Governor Information

School Governors

At The Dales School the Governing Body is made up of nine Governors.  Two Parent Governors; one Local Authority Governor; one Staff Governor; four co-opted Governors and the Headteacher.

The Governors work in partnership with the Headteacher and the staff of the school.  As well as providing advice and acting as a link between the school and the local community, their three core functions are to:

  • Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.
  • Hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school; its pupils and the performance management of staff.
  • Oversee the financial performance of the school making sure money is well spent.

The Full Governing Body appoints parent governors and co-opted Governors.  Local Authority Governors are appointed by the Local Authority and Staff Governors are elected by staff members.

Terms of office for parent, co-opted and staff governors is four years.  The term of office for Local Authority Governors is four years or until terminated by the Local Authority.  The Chair and Vice-Chair shall have a term of office of 2 years.

The Full Governing Body meet each term.  The Finance Committee meet each term and the Curriculum Committee meet in the Spring Term.

Who's Who - School Governors

You can make a difference

Scheme for paying governors expenses

DfE Governance Handbook January 2017

Website design by ReZolve. An SSIDM website - v3.0.002aa [3]. Loaded in 0.0313 seconds.