Governors' Information & Duties

At The Dales School the Governing Body is made up of eight Governors.  Two Parent Governors; one Local Authority Governor; one Staff Governor; three co-opted Governors and the Headteacher. The Governors work in partnership with the Headteacher and the staff of the school.  As well as providing advice and acting as a link between the school and the local community, their three core functions are to:

  • Ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction.
  • Hold the Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school; its pupils and the performance management of staff.
  • Oversee the financial performance of the school making sure money is well spent.

The Full Governing Body appoints parent Governors and co-opted Governors.  Local Authority Governors are appointed by the Local Authority and Staff Governors are elected by staff members. Terms of office for parent, co-opted and staff governors is four years.  The term of office for Local Authority Governors is four years or until terminated by the Local Authority.  The Chair and Vice-Chair shall have a term of office of 2 years. The Full Governing Body meet each term.  If you wish to contact the Chair of Governors, please use the contact us page on this website and select the Chair of Governors option.


Full Name
(Category of Governor)
Position in GB Term of Office Appointed by Declared Interests Declaration Date
Ann-Marie Ellis
Headteacher N/A N/A Headteacher 11/10/2017
Jennifer Hinde
Chair 03/03/2018-03/03/2022 Full Governing Body Director of Hailstone HR and Amey PLC 05/02/2020
Elaine Harrison
Local Authority
LA Governor 07/10/2020-07/10/2024 Local Authority N/A 09/11/2020
Andrew Rickard
Governor 26/10/2019-26/10/2022 Full Governing Body N/A 05/02/2020
Sue Thurman
Governor 05/02/2020-05/02/2024 Full Governing Body N/A 03/10/2020
Yvette Simcoe
Governor 05/02/2020-05/02/2024 Full Governing Body N/A 05/02/2020
Carly Stokes
Governor 05/12/2019-05/12/2022 Full Governing Body N/A 19/03/2019
Sharon Parker
Governor 17/05/2021-17/05/2025 Full Governing Body pending pending
Paula Marshall
Governor 05/02/2020-05/02/2024 Full Governing Body N/A 05/02/2020
Cheryl Hagyard
N/A N/A N/A School Business Manager at The Dales School
Sharon Kettleborough
N/A N/A N/A Deputy Headteacher at The Dales School
Heidi Taylor
Clerk to Governors
N/A N/A Full Governing Body Receptionist at The Dales School

Governors who have served in the past 12 months

Full Name
(Category of Governor)
Position in GB Term of Office Committee Declared Interests Declaration Date Leaving Date
Colin Taylor
Governor 05/12/2018-05/12/2022 Full Governing Body N/A 05/02/2020 August 2020
Helen Whitehead
Governor 01/09/2018-01/09/2022 Curriculum N/A 04/10/2018 September 2019
Debbie Keeble
Governor 04/04/2019-04/04/2023 Finance Student from The Dales School Sixth Form has work experience at Heck Food Ltd September 2019