Our Curriculum model

The Dales School has three distinct curriculum models based upon the key phases across our school. The models are: Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum; Pre-Formal and Semi-Formal Curriculum (Primary/Secondary); and our Sixth Form Curriculum.

Our pre-formal curriculum areas are:

  • My Cognition
  • My Communication
  • My Physical
  • My Care and Independence

The semi-formal curriculum also includes:

  • My World
  • My Creativity

We have long terms plans for these curriculum areas based upon a 3-year rolling plan.

Please see links below to our long-term plans, links and other documents below for each of our curriculum areas:

My Cognition

Cognition curriculum intent & LTP

My Communication

Communication, Language and Literacy curriculum intent & LTP

Total Communication overview

Writing overview

Reading overview

My Physical

Physical curriculum intent & LTP

Visit the Move Europe website to learn about the Move Programme

My Care and Independence

My Care and Independence curriculum intent & LTP

PSHE framework

My World

My World curriculum intent & LTP

Forest School curriculum intent and LTP

My Creativity 

Creativity curriculum intent & LTP



Sixth Form